Gavin Friday was born Fionan Hanvey in Dublin in 1959. He group up in north Dublin. While best known as a singer, Gavin is also a painter and actor.

He first came to public attention as the lead singer of the avant-garde / gothic band, The Virgin Prunes [1977 - 1986]. That band released albums such as 'If I Die, I Die' [1982] and 'The Hidden Lie' [1987]. Friday left the band in 1986 with the remaining members continuing on as The Prunes.

He launched his solo career in 1987 when he collaborated with Simon Carmody of The Golden Horde on a version of the track 'You Can't Always Get What You Want' by The Rolling Stones. The same year, Gavin would start a music relationship with Maurice Seezer which would last until 2005.

His debut solo single, 'Each Man Kills The Thing He Loves' was released in 1989 with an album of the same name following later that year. Friday went on to release 3 further studio albums 'Adam 'N' Eve' [1992], 'Shag Tobacco' [1995] and, after a long break, 'Catholic' [2011].

Throughout his solo career, he has been actively involved in film soundtracks either as a writer/composer or performer. This body of work has been widely recognised. In 1993, the song 'You Made Me The Thief Of Your Heart' from the film 'In The Name Of The Father' and sung by Sinead O'Connor was nominated for a Golden Globe. In 2003, the track 'Time Enough For Tears' which was performed by Andrea Corr on the 'In America' soundtrack also received a Golden Globe nomination.

- Fionan Hanvey was born in Dublin
- Joined The Virgin Prunes
- Left The Virgin Prunes
- Release of 'You Can't Always Get What You Want'
- Release of 'Each Man Kills The Thing He Loves' single
- Release of 'You Take Away The Sun' single
- Release of 'Each Man Kills The Thing He Loves' album
- Release of 'Man Of Misfortune' single
- Release of 'I Want To Live' single
- Release of 'King Of Trash' single
- Release of 'Falling Off The Edge Of The World' single
- Release of 'Adam 'N' Eve' album
- Release of 'In The Name Of The Father' single
- Release of 'Angel' single
- Release of 'Shag Tobacco' album
- Release of 'You Me And World Ward Three' single
- Release of 'Catholic' album