The Flaws is a four piece indie-rock band from Monaghan and Louth. The band was originally formed as Sweet Relief in 2002 before becoming The Flaws in about 2004. The line up at that time consisted of Paul Finn [Vocals & Guitar], Dane McMahon [Bass Guitar], Shane Malone [Guitar] and Stpehen Finnegan [Drums]. The band started out playing an amount of cover material before going on to write, and perform their own original numbers. The band went into the studio with Derek Turner [Honey Thieves] in 2005 to record its debut EP. The band self-released the eponymously-titled 4 track collection later that year. The four track collection featured early versions of '16' and 'Idolise' which would later appear on the band's debut album.

In the Autumn of 2005, the band played the Hard Working Class Heroes Festival in Dublin before signing a deal with Sound Foundation Recordings. The band entered a very productive period releasing a series of catchy indie-pop singles. The first of these, 'No Room' was released in March 2006. This was quickly followed by 'Out Tonight' in June 2006. However, in early 2007, Stephen announced that he was to leave the band. Undeterred, he remaining three members recruited Colin Berrill, formerly of The Gurriers, on drums. In spite of the line up change, the band maintained the momentum releasing further singles '16' in May 2007 and the classic '1981' in July of that year. These single releases were all part of the recording sessions with Garreth Mannix who was overseeing the recording of the band's debut album. That album, 'Achieving Vagueness' was released in September 2007.

In January of 2008, 'Achieving Vagueness' was nominated for the Choice Music Prize - Super Extra Bonus Party went on to win the award. The album was also nominated in the 'Best Album' category at The Meteor Ireland Music Awards with the band also being nominated in the Best Band category.

The band's second album, 'Constant Adventure' was released in October 2010. The album found the band in good form and included the strong singles 'Part Of You' and 'Make Good'.

- Band formed
- Release of 'The Flaws' E.P.
- Release of 'No Room' single [24 March]
- Release of 'Out Tonight' single [01 June]
- Release of '16' single [18 May]
- Release of '1981' single [27 July]
- Release of 'Achieving Vagueness' album [14 September]
- Release of 'You & I' single as a digital download [02 November]
- Release of 'I Don't Wanna Dance' single
- Stephen Finnegan leaves the band. He is replaced on drums by Colin Berrill who formerly played with The Gurriers
- 'Achieving Vagueness' is nominated for the Choice Music Prize [January]
- The Flaws are nominated in the Best Irish Band category in the Meteor Ireland Music Awards. They also received a nomination in the Best Irish Album category for 'Achieving Vagueness'
- Release of 'Out Tonight' single as a digital download [16 May]
- Release of 'Part Of You' single [01 October]
- Release of 'Constant Adventure' album [29 October]
- Release of 'Constant Adventure' single
- Release of 'Make Good' single [11 February]