Dark Room Notes is an electro-pop band currently based in Dublin. However, the origins of the band date back to 2004 in Galway. The group was formed by Ronan Gaughan [Vocals, Synth & Guitar], Ruairi Ferrie [Vocals, Guitar, Synth & Programming] and Ruairi Kavanagh [Drums]. In 2006, Darragh Shanahan replaced Ruairi Kavanagh on drums. It was around this time that the band played its first gig, a December date in Galway. The band relocated to Dublin in 2007 where they recruited Wicklow girl Aaran Murphy [Vocals & Synth].

This was to be a very busy year for the group. June heralded the release of the band's debut single, 'Love Like Nicotine'. This release was followed in October of the same year by the 'Dead Start Program' EP. This four track collection featured the well known 'Shake Shake My Ceiling'. The band rounded off the year with a slot at Series 6 of Other Voices ::: Songs From A Room which was recorded in December in St. James Church in Dingle.

Much of 2008 was spent finalising and recording the debut album. The long player, 'We Love You Dark Matter' was released in April 2009. The album wsa very well received and garnered strong critical acclaim. In January 2010, the album was nominated for the Choice Music Prize. Later that year, 'Elm' was released as digital download single.

- Band formed
- Camera Shanahan joins on Drums
- Release of 'Love Like Nicotine' single [June]
- Release of 'Dead Start Program' E.P. [12 October]
- Release of 'Love Like Nicotine' single in the UK [23 June]
- Release of 'We Love You Dark Matter' album [10 April]
- Deaf Animal Orchestra perform as part of the Hard Working Class Heroes Festival in Dublin [16 - 18 October]
- The 'We Love You Dark Matter' album is nominated for the 2009 Choice Music Award [January]
- Release of 'Elm' single as a digital download [October]
- Release of 'Baby Don't Hurt Me No More' single [05 March]
- Release of 'Dark Room Notes' album [May]